

DYLAN WRIGHT DIRECTOR OC COMMUNITY RESOURCES

CYMANTHA ATKINSON ASSISTANT DIRECTOR OC COMMUNITY RESOURCES

JULIE LYONS DIRECTOR ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

ANDI BERNARD DIRECTOR OC ANIMAL CARE

JULIA BIDWELL DIRECTOR OC HOUSING & COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

RENEE RAMIREZ DIRECTOR OC COMMUNITY SERVICES

PAMELA PASSOW INTERIM DIRECTOR OC PARKS

JULIE QUILLMAN COUNTY LIBRARIAN OC PUBLIC LIBRARIES



1501 E. ST. ANDREW PLACE SANTA ANA, CA 92705-4930 PHONE: 714.566.3000

CCommunity Resources

OC Public Libraries – Library Advisory Board Meeting Meeting of the Board Thursday, January 26, 2023

DRAFT MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT OCPL – CITY REPRESENTATIVES

Richard Hurt (Aliso Viejo), Christine Marick (Brea), Manuel Chavez (Costa Mesa), David Burke (Cypress), John Gabbard (Dana Point), Jim Cunneen (Fountain Valley), Cindy Ngoc Tran (Garden Grove), Tammy Kim (Irvine), Debbie Baker (La Palma), Dave Wheeler (Laguna Hills), Carol Moore (Laguna Woods), Benjamin Yu (Lake Forest), Emily Hibard (Los Alamitos), Anne D. Figueroa (Rancho Santa Margarita), John Campbell (San Juan Capistrano), Hong Alyce Van (Stanton), Robbie Pitts (Villa Park).

OTHER ATTENDEES

COUNTY STAFF

Dylan Wright (OCCR Director), Julie Quillman (County Librarian), Alex Martinez (Asst. to the County Librarian and Assistant County Librarian), David Lopez (OCPL Community Relations Manager), Beatriz Preciado (OCPL Programs Manager).

MEMBERS NOT ATTENDING

OCPL – CITY REPRESENTATIVES

Daren Nigsarian (La Habra), George Weiss (Laguna Beach), Ray Gennawey (Laguna Niguel), Gene James (San Clemente), Thomas Moore (Seal Beach), Becky Gomez (Tustin), NamQuan Nguyen (Westminster).

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS REPRESENTATIVES

Supervisor Vicente Sarmiento, 2nd District; Supervisor Katrina Foley, 5th District.

<u>EX OFICIO REPRESENTATIVE</u> Oliver C. Chi, City Manager, Irvine (City Managers' Association)

LAB MINUTES PAGE 2 OF 2 JANUARY 26, 2023

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Christine Marick called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m.

II. ROLL CALL

III. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Dave Wheeler led the LAB members in the Pledge of Allegiance.

IV. PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF THE:

- a. May 26, 2022, Library Advisory Board Meeting
- b. June 9, 2022, Library Advisory Board Special Meeting

c. October 27, 2022, Library Advisory Board Meeting

It was moved (Carol Moore) and seconded (Anne Figueroa) to approve the minutes of the May 26, 2022, June 9, 2022, and October 27, 2022, Library Advisory Board (LAB) meetings. The motion was moved with no members abstaining.

V. APPROVAL OF 2023 MEETING SCHEDULE

a. January 26, 2023, Full LAB

b. April 20, 2023, Finance/Executive Committee

c. May 25, 2023, Full LAB

d. October 26, 2023, Full LAB

It was moved (Robbie Pitts) and seconded (Hong Alyce Van) to approve the 2023 meeting schedule. The motion was approved by all members with no abstentions.

VI. ELECTION OF NEW OFFICERS

Chair Marick opened the floor to nominations for new officers. It was moved (Anne Figueroa), seconded (Carol Moore) with the following oppositions, Richard Hurt (Aliso Viejo), Manuel Chavez (Costa Mesa), David Burke (Cypress), Jim Cunneen (Fountain Valley), Tammy Kim (Irvine), Benjamin Yu (Lake Forest), the following abstentions: Emily Hibard (Los Alamitos), and approved to re-elect Christine Marick as Chair. The motion was approved by the majority of members with the following opposition: Manuel Chavez (Costa Mesa), David Burke (Cypress), Jim Cunneen (Fountain Valley), Tammy Kim (Irvine), Benjamin Yu (Lake Forest), the following abstentions: Carol Moore (Laguna Woods), and Cindy Ngoc Tran (Garden Grove), and unanimously approved to re-elect Anne Figueroa as Vice Chair. It was moved by all members to elect Richard Hurt as Secretary. The motion was approved with no opposition and no abstentions. It was moved with the nomination of the following members to the Executive Committee: David Burke (Cypress), Manuel Chavez (Costa Mesa), Carol Moore (Laguna Woods), Benjamin Yu (Lake Forest), Hong Alyce Van (Stanton), and Robbie Pitts (Villa Park). The motion was approved by all members with no abstentions.

VI1I. NEW BUSINESS

A. STATE OF THE LIBRARY REPORT

Julie Quillman, County Librarian gave a presentation on the State of the Library Report.

B. LAB HANDBOOK

Julie Quillman, County Librarian announced the LAB Handbook.

IX. CHAIR COMMENTS

Christine Marick thanked the LAB for attending the first meeting and encouraged the new LAB Members to read through the LAB Handbook.

VII. BOARD COMMENTS

No Board Comments

VIII. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There was an announcement made regarding the reopening of the Brea Library on February 8, 2023 and the reopening of the San Juan Capistrano Library on March 7, 2023.

IX. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 5:17 p.m.

Minutes prepared by Alex Martinez on: 1/31/23 Reviewed by Julie Quillman, County Librarian on: 1/31/23 Approved at the Library Advisory Board Meeting on: 5/23/23